Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Rider of Darkness


Rider of Darkness, Path of Light

M·F 15

Liner Notes



The Music of Jeffrey Holmes

A dramatic & esoteric journey through mysterious mythological realms of imagination, RIDER OF DARKNESS, PATH OF LIGHT evokes natural landscapes united by themes of isolation, primordial struggle & conflict, death, and the Beyond. These premiere recordings feature virtuoso performances by Nicholas Isherwood, the Talea Ensemble, Jason Hardink, Kirsten Ashley Wiest, and many others in a collection of provocative vocal, chamber, and solo compositions.

World Premiere Recordings

Jeffrey Holmes composes post-spectral, teleological music incorporating elements of mysticism and lyrical expression. His creative inspiration is rooted in primitive myths, transcendent legends, and dramatic elemental landscapes in their primal and violent natural states. As a traditionalist, he composes music for acoustic orchestral instruments, using standard notational methods; as a formalist, he works within a complex and unique non-octave diatonic, chromatic, and microtonal language; as a transcendentalist, he combines the inherent abstraction of sound with a greater meaning and possibility of interpretation through the use of lyricism and overt expression. His music has been described as Captivating haunting and slightly disorienting. (LA Times) Interesting and musically arresting, music to be really heard and deserving of reflection. (Society of Composers, INC)

“Brilliantly crafted, a captivating listening experience… a polish and artistry that stands comparison with any of the 20th century masterworks.” — Sequenza 21

“Music of raw power & vision…a particularly impressive combination of technical prowess and deep expression.” — Fanfare Magazine