Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Beyond 12 Volume 2 Press


Album: Beyond 12: Reinventing the Piano, Volume 2

Digital Piano: Aron Kallay

Composers: Jeffrey Harrington, Monroe Golden, Robert Carl, Veronika Krausas, Nick Norton, Alexander Elliott Miller, Bill Alves, Eric Moe

Record Label: MicroFest Records

Catalog Number: M·F 16

UPC: 789993768493

Release date: January 15, 2021

Format: Digital and Compact Disc

Liner Notes

Download Digital Booklet

Download MP3s and Hi-Res Versions

Available on Amazon!


Press Contact: Aron Kallay

aronkallay [at] gee mail dot com

Beyond 12: Reinventing the Piano, Volume 2

Aron Kallay, Retuned & Remapped Digital Piano


For nearly 200 years the piano’s design has been exactly the same: 12 keys 7 times, low-to high = left-to-right.

But why 12..? Why left-to-right..? What if…

Beyond Twelve is a project that uses state-of-the-art physical modeling technology to break free from the constraints of this design—and the piano will never be the same again.

Grammy ® nominated pianist Aron Kallay premieres new works from eight of America’s most visionary composers, who were given two ground rules for these commissions:

1) Re-tune the keyboard, from extended just intonation to 88 equal-divisions of the octave and everything in between.

2) Re-map the keyboard, left can be right, high can be low; pitches need not be in order.

All compositions from 2004-2015, and recorded using Modartt’s Pianoteq.

Track Listing

|1| Sidereal Delay  – Jeffrey Harrington

|2| I’m Worried Now – Monroe Golden

Clouds of Clarification – Robert Carl

|3| Introduction: Ebb and Flow

|4| Maestoso: Earth Processional

|5| Scherzo: Wind Dances

|6| Coda: Consumed by Fire

|7| Une Petite Bagatelle – Veronika Krausas

|8| Terços – Veronika Krausas

|9| Involuntary Bohlen Piercing – Nick Norton

|10| The Blur of Time and Memory – Alexander Elliott Miller

|11| Paths of the Wind – Bill Alves

|12| The Weasel of Melancholy – Eric Moe