Pages Menu
Categories Menu




Aeneas In The Underworld

M·F 25

Liner Notes



Aeneas In The Underworld

Colin McAllister, guitar and recitation


Russ Callison, guitar | Karine Garibova and Veronika Afanassieva, violins | Michael Sabatka, viola | Jennifer Yopp, cello

Premiere Recordings

War is hell and Aeneas must travel there to prepare for his epic battle that will help found the Roman Empire. Composer Christopher Adler’s creative setting uses microtonal scales, a couple of guitarists, a string quartet, and the classical Latin of Virgil’s masterful epic poem to tell of Aeneus’ transformative journey in preparation for his destiny. Hear guitarist Colin McAllister and his fellow musicians tell the story that prepared Aeneas for his heroic destiny in a unique setting of this enduring story.  — New Music Buff

Colin McAllister’s performances have been hailed as “sparkling….delivered superbly” (San Francisco Chronicle), and “ravishing” (San Diego Union Tribune)

Christopher Adler’s compositions have been called “stunningly distinctive yet steeped in tradition” (SFWeekly), “fresh and challenging” (New York Sun), and “fresh, well crafted, … and accessible without ever seeming to pander.” (